Home | Contact Us


  • Mar

    Texas AEVT 2016

    This year at the 2016 Southwest Emergency Vehicle Training Conference in Fort Worth, two of our own, Steve Pena and Grady Jones were recognized by their peers as being the best of the best.

    Steve Pena was presented with the Texas Association of Emergency Vehicle Technicians (TAEVT) Technician of the Year.  Steve has demonstrated throughout his career professionalism in his work, loyalty to the company that he has worked for and is overall a great guy.  Steve is well respected by his customers, co-workers and really anyone that ever has been associated with him.  Francisco Gomez from San Antonio presented the award to Steve.  Francisco and Steve became friends over the years while working together through the SWEVT and Francisco thanked Steve for all he had done to help him in his career.  Steve was nominated and voted to receive this award by his peers.

    Steve is married to Monica and has four children and a grandson.  Steve has been a member of TAEVT since January 2009 and we at Metro Fire are proud of all he has accomplished.

    Grady Jones was honored with the Jim A. Bland Memorial Award. This award was voted on only by the previous winners of the Jim Bland Memorial Award.   Grady was recognized for his dedication to the association, his passion, leadership and willingness to help his fellow peers. 

    Grady has been a member of TAEVT since March of 2002, has been on the board of directors 8 years and has served as president for the last 6 years.  Grady is stepping down this year as president.  Ray Owens has been voted in as president and Jeff Morris of Fort Worth was voted in as Vice President.

    Grady is married to Amanda Jones and has two kids. His professional development and commitment to serve his family, community and company is recognized by all.

    Congratulations Steve and Grady on your major accomplishments, both professionally and personally!  Your friends and family here at Metro Fire could not be more proud of you two.

    For more information about the Texas Association of Emergency Vehicle Technicians, you can visit them at www.taevt.org


    Steve Pena receiving his award. 



    Grady Jones receiving his award.